Club MTV tour, July 7 1991, Capital Music Center, Columbus Ohio

1991mtvdanceparty

 The stub says “MTV Dance Party” but this was really the Club MTV tour. The lineup was pretty good for its time: Bell Biv DeVoe, Gerardo, Tony! Toni! Tone!, C&C Music Factory, Tara Kemp and Color Me Bad.

It was a fast-moving show. Some of the acts played only 20-30 minutes, which was just fine by me. I mean, how many songs that aren’t “Rico Suave” do you want to hear from Gerardo?

Bell Biv DeVoe was the headliner, and they got the crowd moving with “Poison” and other hits. My favorite act of the evening was Tony! Toni! Tone!, which I think was the only act to feature live people playing real instruments. They had a good-sized band and created more of a groove than the other performers, who used a DJ or backing track, and maybe a live drummer, for their accompaniment.

12 responses to “Club MTV tour, July 7 1991, Capital Music Center, Columbus Ohio

  1. Mr. Judy Bauer

    Golly. That’s some kind of lineup. I always kind of liked Bell Biv DeVoe. Any of these bands still kicking around? I never kept track.

  2. stubs and stories

    Good question, MJB. While you can still hear a lot of their songs wherever ’80s music is played, I don’t know that any of them are still recording or touring.

  3. I saw this tour and it was AWESOME! Great show they put on at the Walnut Creek Amp. in Raleigh, NC.

  4. I went to that concert in Cleveland, so I assume the date was close. If I remember correctly we got a deal where tickets were 5.00

  5. I went to this show! Too funny. I had just started high school. Was going for Bell Biv Devoe & toni tone tony. Wasn’t sure bout the date. Thanks.

  6. I remember going to that show with my cousin… We sat a little far back, but after Gerardo preformed, two ladies walked by and asked my Uncle if they could give us their tickets.. we moved about 10 if that rows back from the stage for BBD.. I loved Tony Toni Tone the best…

  7. I drop a leave a response whenever I appreciate a post on a website or if I have something to valuable to contribute to the discussion. Usually it
    is caused by the fire displayed in the article I read.

    And after this post Club MTV tour, July 7 1991, Capital Music Center,
    Columbus Ohio | Stubs and stories. I was moved enough to drop a thought 😉 I do have a few questions for you if
    you tend not to mind. Is it only me or do some of these responses look like they are left by brain dead people?
    😛 And, if you are posting at other online sites, I’d like
    to follow everything fresh you have to post. Would you list all of your communal pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?.
    Perhaps you have calmly considered tips on how to buy
    instagram followers about instagram?

  8. Hello to every one, since I am in fact keen of reading this webpage’s post to be updated on a regular basis.
    It contains good data. instagram
    instagram

  9. Hello i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anywhere,
    when i read this post i thought i could also make comment due to this sensible paragraph.
    youtube
    youtube
    youtube

  10. Asking questions are genuinely pleasant thing if you are not understanding anything
    totally, but this post provides good understanding yet. youtube
    youtube
    youtube

  11. Tara Kemp is back with new material, interviews and revelations about where she has been.

  12. LOL – I saw this tour in Sacramento, CA!

Leave a Reply

