Jon Spencer Blues Explosion, October 12, 1994(?), Stache’s, Columbus Ohio

jsbx

The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion is one of my top five all-time favorite live acts. I’ve seen the JSBX several times and they do not disappoint. So this was a typical killer show from them. I’m not 100% sure about the year but I think it was 1994 because I’m pretty sure it was part of the Orange tour.

Any JSBX show is notable for me, but this one is also notable for having perhaps the worst opening act of any concert I’ve ever been to. I don’t mean Monster Truck 005, who were always good. I’m talking about the Thinking Fellers Union Local 282. It didn’t help that I was extremely eager to see the Blues Explosion play and hated having to sit through a band I didn’t care for. It also didn’t help that the Fellers’ music was slow and dreary, making them even more the buzzkill. And perhaps worst was that the power went out during their set, killing what little momentum they had going. When they were able to resume after several minutes, they didn’t move on to the next song in their set but instead started over on the song that they were playing when they were cut off. So we all had to hear that crappy song not just once, but 1.5 times. The horror.

Leave a Reply

