David Bowie, September 1, 1987, Madison Square Garden, New York City

1987davidbowie

My first-ever trip to New York City, just me and my mother, included stops at the Statue of Liberty, World Trade Center, Empire State Building — and a David Bowie concert at Madison Square Garden. This was Bowie’s Glass Spiders tour, and it wasn’t the best era to see him, but it was my first time and I was impressed. He had Peter Frampton on guitar, but of course they didn’t play any Frampton songs. Our seats were a mile from the stage so my mom bought us a pair of binoculars, which I still have and have used many times since.

It was the first of two nights for Bowie at Madison Square Garden. I couldn’t find a set list for this night, but here’s the set list for the following night. It looks to be pretty close to what I saw.

Up the Hill Backwards / Glass Spider / Up the Hill Backwards (Reprise) / Day In Day Out / Absolute Beginners / Loving the Alien / China Girl / Rebel Rebel / Fashion / Scary Monsters / All the Madmen / Never Let Me Down / Big Brother / ’87 and Cry / Heroes / Sons of the Silent Age / Time Will Crawl. / Young Americans / Beat of Your Drum / The Jean Genie / Let’s Dance / Fame /

Encore: Time / Blue Jean / Modern Love

Leave a Reply

